Drivers who send text messages or talk on their cell phones, eat, drink, or adjust their makeup in the rearview mirrors, can make the roads extremely dangerous for everyone. If an inattentive driver caused you to suffer injuries in a crash, a Fort Carson distracted driving accident lawyer could help you pursue the compensation you need. Our dedicated team of car wreck attorneys could handle any legal challenges that may arise while you focus on your physical recovery.
Distracted driving can be anything that takes a driver’s attention away from the act of operating their vehicle. Whether it is unruly children, uncrated pets, texting, talking on a cell phone, or an intense conversation with a passenger, any behavior that takes a motorist’s eyes off of the road can cause a serious accident. In 2016, local governemnet enacted a policy prohibiting cellphone use in any government or personal vehicle with the exception of drivers using hands-free devices or who are parked off the road. Some of examples of approved hands-free devices may include:
Traffic Accident Investigators (TAI) patrols the area to ensure motorists are not driving while distracted. If an officer finds a distracted driver, even if no accident occurs, a first-time offender may receive a ticket with a $50 fine and a $30 administration fee. A second-time offender may get the same ticket as well as a one-year revocation of driving privileges. A local attorney could assess the facts of a distracted driving situation and seek compensation for an injured party.
Colorado has banned all drivers from using their cellphone to send or read messages or browse the internet while behind the wheel. State law allows adults to use hands-free devices for voice calls, although they must be able to hear sirens or other traffic noises while on a call. Additionally, Colorado does allow drivers to use GPS by mounting handheld devices dashboards, as long as they are pre-programmed before the trip begins.
Depending on the number of violations, drivers may incur a fine of between $50 and $1,000, and between one and four points against their driver’s licenses for breaking these laws. Adults involved in an accident resulting in death or bodily harm may face a $1,000 fine and a sentence of one year in prison, along with four points against their driver’s license.
State law forbids drivers 18 and under from using any electronic device while behind the wheel, including a ban on hands-free devices for voice calls. The only exception is to report emergencies, such as accidents and crimes. Any teens 18 and under who break this law may receive a $50 fine and one point on their license for the first violation and $100 and one point for each subsequent violation. A lawyer in Fort Carson could help someone take legal action if another motorist broke any of these distracted driving laws.
Motorists have a duty to drive with the safety of others in mind. Therefore, if someone causes an accident because they were distracted while driving, any injured parties may have the right to file a civil lawsuit based on negligence.
Claimants may ask for compensation for the losses they sustain, which could include medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, future lost wages, and loss of the enjoyment of life. Anyone who may be eligible to pursue legal action after a distracted driver caused their accident should contact a knowledgeable attorney in the area to help examine and build a case, meet filing deadlines, and fight for justice in court.
If you suffered injuries in an auto accident caused by a reckless driver who was inattentive behind the wheel, you may need someone on your side to help you file a legal claim for compensation. Our team could advocate for your best interests throughout this process. Contact a Fort Carson distracted driving lawyer from our firm to discuss your case.